Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Flash Player Help

Table of Contents

Privacy pop-up question

Why do I need to answer this question?

The application running in Adobe Flash Player has requested access to the camera and/or microphone available on your computer, from now until the application ends. Note that it is the person or company that has created the application you are using that is requesting such access, not Adobe (unless Adobe has created the application that wants access to your camera or microphone). In the dialog box shown above, [website] represents the name of the person or company requesting access. It is the responsibility of the person or company requesting access to make it clear to you why they want access and how they plan to use the audio or video. You should be aware of the privacy policy of anyone who is requesting audio or video access. For example, see the Adobe privacy policy. Contact the website requesting access for information on their privacy policy.

It's important to understand that even though this dialog box is part of Flash Player, the audio and video will be used by an application created by a third party. Adobe assumes no responsibility for third-party privacy policies, actions of third-party companies in capturing audio or video on your computer, or such companies' use of such data or information.

What happens if I select Allow?

If you select Allow, the application can capture what your camera sees and your microphone hears, until you close the application. The application may want to broadcast the video and audio to other people who are viewing or hearing the application you are running — for example, during an interactive meeting. The application may also be recording the video and audio for later playback — for example, so someone who can't attend the meeting can review it later.

It is also possible that the application wants to make the video and audio available only for you to see and hear — for example, to let you know how you look and sound while rehearsing a speech. In this case, the application does not broadcast or record the video and audio; it simply captures what you are doing while you are doing it.

As discussed in Why do I need to answer this question? above, it is the responsibility of the website requesting access to make it clear to you why they want access and how they plan to use the audio or video. For example, will it be recorded or is it only available live? If it will be recorded, who will have access to it in the future? Will it be deleted after a certain period of time? The privacy policy of anyone who is requesting audio or video access should address these sorts of issues.

What happens if I select Deny?

If you select Deny, the application does not have access to your camera or your microphone. The application will continue running, but may not function as intended. Alternately, the application may inform you that it can't continue unless you allow access, in which case you can either allow access or close the application.

Do I have to answer this question every time I run an application from this website?

No. You can use the Privacy Settings panel to allow or deny access to your camera and microphone for all applications from this website without asking you for permission each time. To display the Privacy Settings panel:

  1. Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Macintosh) the application image while it is running.
  2. From the context menu, select Settings, and then click the Privacy tab.

You can also use the Flash Player Settings Manager to manage your privacy both globally (for all websites) and on a site-by-site basis (for websites you have already visited). For more information, see What can I do with the Settings Manager?

How can I display this question again?

You can't. Flash Player displays this question automatically when necessary.